Follow me on Facebook

MY

Profile

 

Early years

I was born on September 10th 1970 at the former Amherst Hospital. I began my primary education at Amherst School then my family moved to the Forest for a few years so my junior education was at Forest School. I then went on to La Mare de Carteret for my secondary education. After leaving school I went to work for my father and began an apprenticeship at the College of Further Education where I then qualified as a carpenter in 1989; I have worked in Guernsey ever since.

 

Profession

Upon leaving school I worked for my father’s building company until 2001. I then co-founded Bonsai Group Ltd and worked within the group as a Partner and Technical Director until I left in 2005 to form Pure Wood Floors. I was also a co-founder of Ezydeck UK, a business involved in importing specialist timber products from Australia into the UK market. I also held the position of Technical Director within that company for its duration. I am currently still involved in the timber and construction industry in Guernsey.

 

Family life

I have a son called Spencer who was born in 1998. Spencer was diagnosed with a very rare condition called Hemimegalencephaly and spent most of his first year in Great Ormond St Hospital. He underwent lifesaving surgery at 8 months old, but it left him without the use of the left hand side of his body. Over the last 17 years his mother and I have had some tough calls to make but I am happy to say that through many operations and therapies, perseverance and determination, he now has a quality of life we could only have dreamt of. Spencer leaves school next year and will be going into Adult Services meaning that his mother and I can continue to work. I wanted to stand at the last election in 2012, but at that time we didn’t know what would happen when Spencer left school so I couldn’t commit myself to a political career. Now I can fully commit myself to helping create a better future for our children.

 

Hobbies and interests

I’ve been a keen sportsman all my life mainly playing football, squash and clay shooting. Being 45 now and currently a self employed father I could no longer risk the injuries that veterans football presented, so regrettably I had to give it up. I’ve since taken up running and cycling and last year I completed my first triathlon and half marathon - with the weather we’ve had recently though I’d probably prefer a game of Euchre. I’ve been involved with a few charities on a volunteer basis, such as the You Can Do It Foundation, and in 2000 I climbed Kilimanjaro in aid of Help an African Schoolchild.